Client JS and program launch

Timekoin Client not working? Someone might be able to answer your questions here.
Post Reply
User avatar
evoked
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 4:56 am

Client JS and program launch

Post by evoked »

Hi,

I noticed this JS error on IE8 (i know its sad, normally use chromium). Anyways after i log in i get this error:

Code: Select all

Webpage error details

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/4.0; SLCC2; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; Media Center PC 6.0; .NET4.0C; .NET4.0E; InfoPath.3)
Timestamp: Fri, 29 Nov 2013 08:28:15 UTC


Message: Object doesn't support this property or method
Line: 43
Char: 2
Code: 0
URI: http://localhost:81/tkclient/js/tkgraph.js

I know its probably nothing but thought id let you know.

Also how do you start the client again once it has been closed. The icon only allows for the action "close timekoin" whilst "timekoin" is greyed out.

Thank you for your help.
Keep TimeKoin Alive!
User avatar
joanofarc
Posts: 131
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 8:09 am

Re: Client JS and program launch

Post by joanofarc »

evoked wrote:Hi,

I noticed this JS error on IE8 (i know its sad, normally use chromium). Anyways after i log in i get this error:

Code: Select all

Webpage error details

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/4.0; SLCC2; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; Media Center PC 6.0; .NET4.0C; .NET4.0E; InfoPath.3)
Timestamp: Fri, 29 Nov 2013 08:28:15 UTC


Message: Object doesn't support this property or method
Line: 43
Char: 2
Code: 0
URI: http://localhost:81/tkclient/js/tkgraph.js


I know its probably nothing but thought id let you know.
If it prevents the graphs from working, a bug report would be a good thing to submit to the dev team.
Also how do you start the client again once it has been closed. The icon only allows for the action "close timekoin" whilst "timekoin" is greyed out.

Thank you for your help.
The web browser allows the user access to it, normally it is just http://localhost/tkclient which you can bookmark in your browser like any other website. Going by your error message, looks like something else is already running on the default web port, yours might be at http://localhost:81/tkclient
You can also close out the client icon (which shutdowns the database, etc) and then just open it back up as it will then open up the correct weblink when it starts (then you can bookmark for future reference)
User avatar
evoked
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2013 4:56 am

Re: Client JS and program launch

Post by evoked »

joanofarc wrote:
evoked wrote:Hi,

I noticed this JS error on IE8 (i know its sad, normally use chromium). Anyways after i log in i get this error:

Code: Select all

Webpage error details

User Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/4.0; SLCC2; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; .NET CLR 3.0.30729; Media Center PC 6.0; .NET4.0C; .NET4.0E; InfoPath.3)
Timestamp: Fri, 29 Nov 2013 08:28:15 UTC


Message: Object doesn't support this property or method
Line: 43
Char: 2
Code: 0
URI: http://localhost:81/tkclient/js/tkgraph.js


I know its probably nothing but thought id let you know.
If it prevents the graphs from working, a bug report would be a good thing to submit to the dev team.
Also how do you start the client again once it has been closed. The icon only allows for the action "close timekoin" whilst "timekoin" is greyed out.

Thank you for your help.
The web browser allows the user access to it, normally it is just http://localhost/tkclient which you can bookmark in your browser like any other website. Going by your error message, looks like something else is already running on the default web port, yours might be at http://localhost:81/tkclient
You can also close out the client icon (which shutdowns the database, etc) and then just open it back up as it will then open up the correct weblink when it starts (then you can bookmark for future reference)
Thank you for your help. That was much easier than I thought :mrgreen:
Keep TimeKoin Alive!
Payday
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 6:11 pm
Location: Cambs, UK

Re: Client JS and program launch

Post by Payday »

joanofarc wrote: The web browser allows the user access to it, normally it is just http://localhost/tkclient which you can bookmark in your browser like any other website. Going by your error message, looks like something else is already running on the default web port, yours might be at http://localhost:81/tkclient
You can also close out the client icon (which shutdowns the database, etc) and then just open it back up as it will then open up the correct weblink when it starts (then you can bookmark for future reference)
is there a way to set the browser as Chrome, currently opens in IE?
User avatar
KnightMB
Site Admin
Posts: 1019
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 5:03 pm

Re: Client JS and program launch

Post by KnightMB »

Payday wrote:
joanofarc wrote: The web browser allows the user access to it, normally it is just http://localhost/tkclient which you can bookmark in your browser like any other website. Going by your error message, looks like something else is already running on the default web port, yours might be at http://localhost:81/tkclient
You can also close out the client icon (which shutdowns the database, etc) and then just open it back up as it will then open up the correct weblink when it starts (then you can bookmark for future reference)
is there a way to set the browser as Chrome, currently opens in IE?
Yes, something that requires a little advanced configuration change.

In the timekoin folder, is a file pms_config.ini, open this file in a text editor (notepad works fine for example).

Half way down the file you'll see a section for browser.

Change the BrowserType from IEXPLORER to EXTERNAL
BrowserType=EXTERNAL

Add this to the BrowserPath section (provided chrome is installed in the same place for you)
BrowserPath="C:\Program Files\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe"

This can be done for any browser (Safari, Firefox, etc.) I do wish the "default" option would work properly, but it varies from OS to OS (might work on XP, but not on 7 or 8 for example) so that is why it was left at the default Internet Explorer for windows. The user could just copy/paste the link to their favorite browser and bookmark it to use the same interface, but sometimes it is nice to have it start in the right browser from the start. :)

Code: Select all

[Browser]
;--- The browser that is started after server start (possible values: IEXPLORER, FIREFOX, PORTABLEFIREFOX, MOZILLA, DEFAULT, EXTERNAL)
;--- Please take a look at the www.server2go-web.de/wiki pages for a documentation how to use PORTABLEFIREFOX!!!!!!!!
BrowserType=EXTERNAL
;--- Browser command options like -k (NOT IN USE AT THE MOMENT)
BrowserCommandOptions=
;--- Path to an external browser that is used instead the browser above
BrowserPath="C:\Program Files\Google\Chrome\Application\chrome.exe"
;--- Specify caption text of Work Offline dialog box. You can use more than one captions (seperated with ;)
;--- The captions for german, english, french, dutch and spanish are build in by default
WorkOfflineTitle=
;--- The size of the started browser. Can be a pixel dimension (1024x768) or the values MAXIMIZE and KIOSK (Internet Explorer only)
BrowserSize=1024x768
Payday
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Dec 21, 2013 6:11 pm
Location: Cambs, UK

Re: Client JS and program launch

Post by Payday »

Thanks, instructions so easy to follow.

Bookmarks are ok, but better starting in right browser.
User avatar
koinmaster
Posts: 357
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2012 8:07 pm

Re: Client JS and program launch

Post by koinmaster »

Hey excellent! I just noticed that you can even just turn off the browser and not have anything come up. Useful since I use the interface in firefox and avoid IE like the plaque :lol:
Kauss_09
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 3:28 am

Re: Client JS and program launch

Post by Kauss_09 »

Nice post
andrikaa
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2014 12:49 am

Re: Client JS and program launch

Post by andrikaa »

HTML and Javascript? Im confused. What is Javascript used for? I know that you can write using javascript but what is the difference between javascript and HTML, how are they different, how do their uses differ? Thanks a lot.
User avatar
KnightMB
Site Admin
Posts: 1019
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2012 5:03 pm

Re: Client JS and program launch

Post by KnightMB »

andrikaa wrote:HTML and Javascript? Im confused. What is Javascript used for? I know that you can write using javascript but what is the difference between javascript and HTML, how are they different, how do their uses differ? Thanks a lot.
Javascript runs the charts, HTML5 is needed to display them. Technically don't need them to use the client, just won't have any charts in the Home tab. :o
Post Reply