How to Create a Full Generating Timekoin Node in a $5 VPS

Having issues with your Timekoin Server? Someone might be able to answer your questions here.
warmach

How to Create a Full Generating Timekoin Node in a $5 VPS

Post by warmach »

To run a timekoin server, you need a reliable system that runs 24/7 and is ideally low cost and does not take a lot to administer. I have tried all kinds of things and I have found that a cloud hosted virtual private server (VPS) with a linux OS seems to be the best option. It took me a lot of trial and error and I created this walkthrough to make it easier for new timekoin server operators.

I have tried to make it as complete, but simple as possible. I am a Windows software developer and have only used linux in the past year. So while I am confident that everything here is right, feel free to double check it and let me know. Code blocks may contain several lines but please run just one at a time.

There are tons of cloud server hosting companies out there with a variety of services offered. Most any one of them will do. Personally, I like Digital Ocean as it is cheap ($5/month) and simple. I will be using this service for this walkthrough. If you would like a server from Digital Ocean, please use my referral link, https://m.do.co/c/95873a7be5e8 The account credit I get from the referral program will help me maintain my timekoin servers and beef them up to be super peers, all which strengthen the network.

Create your new server by selecting a name, plan, location (US or EU), and linux OS. I will be using Ubuntu 13.10 x32 on the base $5 plan (512 RAM, 20GB SSD) for this walkthrough.

Setup server

1. SSH into server. Server address and root user and password will be emailed to you. If you are on windows, I suggest using putty to connect to the server, http://www.putty.org/

2. Change root password

Code: Select all

passwd